ICC should change these 6 rules before 2023 odi Cricket World Cup at India

ICC Cricket World Cup: ICC World Cup 2019 has been in the news for more controversies than cricket. During the World Cup, such controversies arose, for which the International Cricket Council (ICC) was severely criticized. Along with this, this season of the World Cup was also in the news for bad umpiring. There was severe criticism for the poor umpiring standard. The umpire gave England six runs when the ball crossed the boundary with Ben Stokes batting in the final of the World Cup. Whereas five runs should have been given from the Quaid. It happened in the last over of the match. If England were given 5 runs, New Zealand would have won the match by one run and would have been the World Cup winner. But it was followed by a super over and England were chosen the winner in the boundary rule.

The 2019 World Cup was played in England, now four years later the ICC One Day World Cup will be held once again in 2023. This time the 2023 World Cup is to be played in India. In such a situation, the ICC should change its rules by drawing lessons from the mistakes of the last World Cup. Let us know which rules are in which changes need to be made.

ICC World Cup 2023: Know when and where the ICC World Cup 2023 will be played

Relocation Boundaries Rule: So the final of the World Cup was tied, as per rules now super over. This super over was also tied, but as England had hit more fours throughout the match, it was declared the winner. Cricket pundits are demanding to change this rule. Its two options are being mentioned. First, to see how many wickets fell in the innings of both teams. Second is to see which team gave more runs.

Trophy should be shared: New Zealand coach Gary Stead says that in such a situation the trophy should be shared between the two teams. Because if both the teams could not defeat each other even after 100 overs, the decision could not be made in the super over then both the teams would be the winner. The 2002 Champions Trophy was shared between Sri Lanka captain Sanath Jayasuriya and India's captain Sourav Ganguly. However, the match ended without any result due to bad weather. The ICC should consider agreeing to a similar agreement if the final tie occurs.

ICC ODI WC: These 5 Indian faces rarely seen in 2023 World Cup

The run rate of both teams should be seen: Pakistan equaled New Zealand with 11 points. But it was to be decided who would play in the semi-finals. This was to be decided on the basis of better run rate. But this system has two flaws. The fans had to see how many runs Pakistan had to beat Bangladesh in the last match. Also, New Zealand played a defensive game against England in the final group match. This did not spoil his run rate but the game became very boring. So why not go head to head in a tie breaker position.

Late matches due to rain should be eliminated: It is astonishing that only 9 matches in Australia, England and Afghanistan got the full result. Pakistan had to pay the price indirectly. He did not make it to the semi-finals. Therefore, it should be Reserve Day due to rain in group matches. Because the priority of the ICC should be fair.

Drop Jing Bells: At least five such occasions in World Cup 2019 came when Jing Bells did not fall. Because they were overweight. Virat Kohli and Australian captain Aaron Finch have expressed a desire to replace these bells. The ICC should also reconsider it.

A cricket league in which a 100-ball match, 10-ball over

Next World Cup to be played in India
ICC World Cup 2023 will be played in India from 9 February to 26 March. This will be the 13th ICC ODI Cricket World Cup. England have already hosted the World Cup in 1975, 1979, 1983, 1999 and 2019. England is the only country to have co-hosted the tournament in 1975,1979, 1983, 1999 with Ireland, Netherlands, Scotland and Wales.

India has won the World Cup twice so far
The 1987 World Cup was the first such event held in India and Pakistan away from England. World Cup was also held in 1996 and 2011 in this sub continent. In 2011, India won the second ICC ODI Cricket World Cup after 1983 under the captaincy of Mahendra Singh Dhoni. However, Pakistan lost the status of co-host due to uncertain security.

News Reporter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *